Seven City Employees Awarded $4,000 Scholarships
June 26, 2014
The Personality that Succeeds in Customer Support
July 9, 2014
Show all

MPA Scholarship Awarded to Seven Employees

Bringing the dream of a post-baccalaureate education closer to reality is what the City of Corpus Christi Employee Education Assistance Program helps fund.

As the cost to attend colleges and universities continue to rise, the City supports a range of opportunities to ensure our employees have the chance to pursue higher education.

Through a partnership with Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi’s Master’s in Public Administration program, the City of Corpus Christi will be providing our employees with the Student Success Scholarship – a 100% special scholarship program for 12 credit hours of the 36 credit hour Master’s program, exclusively for employee of the City of Corpus Christi.

Today we would like to announce that all 7 student success scholarship finalists will be awarded these scholarship awards. Our thanks to Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi MPA program, and of course our finalists for their participation.

Representing Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi:

  • Dr. Dan Jorgensen, Chair of the Department of Social Sciences and Professor of Public Administration
  • Dr. Melissa Jarrell, Associate Professor and Master’s in Public Administration Coordinator

Also with us today are the Advisory Board members of the Corpus Christi Learning Institute who support the success of our learning and development programs:

  • Dr. Susan Elwood – Professor at TAMUCC and Chair of the board
  • Ms. Lori Garza – Young Business Professionals and Co-Chair of the board
  • Dr. Rick Alvarado – Education Service Center
  • Dr. Michael J. Sandroussi – Craft Training Center
  • Mr. Joe Hayen – Del Mar College
  • Mr. Steven Luis on Behalf of Dr. Janet Cunningham – Citizens for Educational Excellence
  • Dr. Ahmed Mahdy – iCORE at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
  • Dr. John Fernandez – Community Computing Sciences
  • Mr. Orlando Salazar – Corpus Christi Independent School District
  • Dr. Stephen Rodriguez – Educational Technology at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
  • Dr. Mary Gleason – The Corpus Christi Literacy Council
  • Ms. Gloria Perez – Coastal Bend Workforce Development Board

Thank you for your help!

  • Sarah Arroyo, City Auditor’s Department
  • Marie ‘Odette’ Cruz, Human Resources Department
  • Michelle Fitch, Human Resources Department
  • Carl Gross, Airport Department
  • Captain Jason Brady, Police Department
  • Kristina Leal, Mayor’s Office
  • Jennifer Ramirez, Capital Programs Department

Congratulations to the employees being awarded the 100% special scholarship 12 credit hours of the 36 credit hour MPA Master’s program.

Behind every great service is a great team. By building a strong workplace in Corpus Christi we are able to attract, retain and nurture our top-performing professionals. This translates to better customer service and support for our community. We are proud to be investing in our employees and helping bridge higher education’s affordability gap. Congratulations to all.


Liza Wisner
Liza Wisner
Hi, I'm Liza Wisner and I am so excited to be growing the City's Champions! Connect with us today so we can help you reach your goals!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *